Yes We Mystic

Label (worldwide)

Yes We Mystic has been many things in its decade of existence. In the beginning, it was a
group of high schoolers making music on borrowed instruments in a basement in Winnipeg,
Manitoba; in a few short years it had become an internationally-touring musical powerhouse
being praised as “art pop transformers” (Julijana Capone, BeatRoute Magazine) charged
with a “fearless creative energy” (Exclaim!). By 2019, for the release of their sophomore
album Ten Seated Figures, they had reinvented themselves as a performance art collective
(an alternate version of the band played by artists and actors did interviews, starred in
videos, and hosted live performances as the band prodded at the nature of memory).
Shortly thereafter the band’s longtime rehearsal space, reborn as House of Wonders,
became the beating heart of off-kilter indie music in Winnipeg as frontman Adam Fuhr
became a sought-after producer—producing work from JayWood, Virgo Rising, Amos the
Kid, Julien’s Daughter, among dozens more. And now, they return as art-rock veterans for
the release of their third and final album, Trust Fall, this October.
For a time, the band’s return was uncertain. As Yes We Mystic approached their tenth year
together, the five members found themselves pulled in different directions. It became clear
that their singularly-focused and hard-touring days had come to an end. In the earliest days
of 2021, the band considered calling it quits all together, feeling as though they’d rather end
on a high note rather than suffer a slow decline in the focus of their meticulous and
ever-layered work.
In the end, it was their new songs that had the final say. Sensing that they were in the
middle of writing the strongest material of their career, Adam Fuhr, Keegan Steele, Jensen
Fridfinnson, Jodi Plenert and Jordon Ottenson agreed to a final phase—a proper
sendoff—governed by two strict rules: that they would only create something if they could
make it better than everything they’d done before, and that they would only work on one
aspect of the release at a time, not knowing what the final outcome would look like.

The result was threefold – a new album called Trust Fall, an accompanying art piece called
Trust Fall Hotline, and a reality bending four-song live video which will see the return of past
members Eric Ross and Solana Johannson, performing for the first time as a seven piece.
No live shows will accompany the release.
Trust Fall was recorded over 36 days at House of Wonders, the band’s second full-length to
be produced by Fuhr. The ten song album is the band’s most cohesive and nuanced work, a
seesaw of stark, tender vulnerability and frenzied bombast, brought to life by the band and
their tight-knit web of collaborators. Trust Fall features guest performances from Olivier
Macharia of the Polaris Prize nominated Super Duty Tough Work, Chelliot Osuntade from
alt-rock group Julien’s Daughter, Leigh Lugosi of the ambient project Gora, and a full-band
feature from the House of Wonders-signed Virgo Rising. The record was mixed by John
Paul Peters (Tanya Tagaq, Begonia), and mastered by Cam Loeppky (The Weakerthans,
The Constantines). It arrives October 21st on vinyl and streaming services via DevilDuck

Select your currency
EUR Euro
  1. Das Theater Kommando Kant 3:00
  2. nutshell Would 3:44
  3. Try To Fail Again Palila 3:31
  4. What A Fool Am I Timesbold 3:01